Staff at Walsall Studio School

The staff team at Walsall Studio School is a fantastic team of pioneers building a new approach to education that delivers for every individual student in the school.  Students at the studio school repeatedly comment on the encouragement staff give them to believe in themselves and the challenge they bring them to achieve the very best they can.

Scroll down to find out more about some of the staff and governors at Walsall Studio School.


Usually, when contacting the school it is best to ask for one of the following people:

Mrs Lin Koo (General Enquiries)

Ms Ana Branton (SENDCo and Safeguarding)
Miss Hannah Smith (Pastoral Year Lead)
Miss Tieshia Ewen (Pastoral Year Lead)

Local Governing Body

The local governing body is responsible for the overall leadership, management and governance of Walsall Studio School as delegated by the trustee board of The Mercian Trust. The governing body consists of representatives from education, local businesses, parents and the community.


Mr Kevin Davis, Chair of Governors

Kevin Davis is a prolific Social Entrepreneur and CEO of the Vine Trust, (a pioneering Third Sector organisation that ‘prepares young people for life’). With an intrinsic talent for conceptualising and communicating vision, he has the ability to empower consensus, across the Public, Private and Third Sector for the achievement of common goals. Kevin serves his local community as a Third Sector champion with particular success in the development of CSR and faith-inspired organisations.

Mr Rob Colbourne, Vice Chair of Governors

Rob Colbourne is Managing Director of Performance Through People (PTP).  PTP is one of the leading training providers in the West Midlands and has 5 centres throughout Birmingham, Black Country and Staffordshire.


Mr David Lomax

David Lomax is a retired deputy headteacher with considerable experience in education.  Mr Lomax is the nominated governor for SEND.


Ms Catherine Franks

Catherine Franks is the Managing Director of Strand Hardware LTD, and Director or the Premier Business Park, Walsall.


Mr Stuart Roberts

Stuart Roberts is an experienced finance director with experience of financial governance as a governor in other schools before joining the governing body at Walsall Studio School.   Mr Roberts chairs the Finance and Property Committee.


Mr Dan Parkes

Dan Parkes is the Principal of Walsall Studio School. Dan has a proven track record of delivering outstanding outcomes for learners and introducing new and innovative curriculum programmes. Leading a range of different teams, he has developed live projects for students and partnerships with local and regional employers. It was for the innovative work in this area that his team won the national TES award for Outstanding Innovation in Teaching and Learning in 2011.  Dan is the Chair and Director of the Studio Schools Network representing the Studio School movement in regular meetings with the DFE and a range of external stakeholders. throughout the country. He is a creative manager with a background of embedding technology-enabled learning in a range of subject areas. Dan is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and member of the Accountability and Assessment in Education task group and member of the RSA’s Innovative Education Network.


Mr Tim Summersby

Tim is the former headteacher of St John’s CE Primary School, a two-form entry school in Sparkhill, Birmingham, which converted into an Academy in 2012 and was judged to be outstanding (in all categories) by Ofsted in 2014. He is the Pastor of Walsall Community Church and is strengthening the partnership between the Community Church and Studio School including support of the Black Country Foodbank.


We are currently recruiting Parent Governors to the Local Governing Body.